SHS golfers are honored

Several Sweetwater High School golfers were recently honored for their outstanding play during the 2011 spring season. Pictured are Leila Rubio, Elise Lawrence, Sarah Witt, Jodie May, Jonah Lawrence, Alex Castillo, Dylan Torres, Ryan Mercer and Mason Andrews. May (varsity girls), Rubio (JV girls), Jonah Lawrence (JV boys) and Mercer (varsity boys) were named Vardon Trophy winners for having the season’s lowest stroke averages. In addition, Mercer received all-district, all-region and all-state honors while Witt and Torres also won all-district honors and Andrews, Castillo, May and Elise Lawrence received honorable mention all-district honors.