SISD names Teachers of the Year

Sweetwater ISD recently named their 2010-2011 Campus Teachers of the Year, along with the Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year for the district. The following are the recipients of this very high honor: • Amy Hernandez – J.P. Cowen Early Childhood Center• Amy Nixon – Southeast Elementary• Tracy Holmes – East Ridge Elementary• Irene Armstrong – Sweetwater Middle School• Brandie Gee – Sweetwater High School• Teresa Slaton – Sweetwater Intermediate School & SISD Elementary Teacher of the Year• John Cox – HOBBS Alternative School & SISD Secondary Teacher of the YearAmy HernandezAmy Hernandez is a Head Start teacher with J.P. Cowen Early Childhood Center. While she has been teaching for the past six years, a third of that time has been with Sweetwater ISD.Hernandez attended Angelo State University and Western Texas College, earning a Bachelor of Science and an Associate of Arts, respectively. She is involved with the Texas Classroom Teacher’s Association and participates locally in the Sweetwater Little League.“I teach because I love children,” said Hernandez. “I want them to love learning as much as I love teaching. I hope to teach my students how to be an active and contributing member of our classroom. As a contributing member, every child has an important and meaningful job to do everyday.”Hernandez teaches her students through participation on many levels, including “large group, small group, individual work and hands-on activities.” Her teaching, however, extends beyond the classroom and into everyday life.“I strive to teach them to respect themselves and the rights of others. I believe when children feel safe and socially included, active citizenship and personal development are enhanced. If they can learn the skills needed to be an active and contributing member of our classroom, then one day they can extend these skills to the larger community.”