SW will begin play at 7-on-7 state tournament Thursday

Several Sweetwater High School football players will be spending Thursday and Friday in College Station making history — as part of the school’s first-ever group to play in the state 7-on-7 tournament.Sweetwater qualified with a top-two finish last month at Stephenville’s state qualifying tournament. Michael Lawrence, Deshaun Williams, Colby Greenwood, Kaegan Jeffrey, Isaiah McGee, Kiante McCoy, Denzell Moore, Lowell Williams, Hunter Mobley, Max Gomez, Jacoby Hunt, Bray Amos and Michael Green are on the team, which is in the Division II tournament in the ‘L” pool with Boerne, Cuero and Gilmer. The 64-team event will be at College Station’s Veterans Park and Athletic Complex.The Division II tournament is for schools who are in the new 4A classification — such as Sweetwater — and smaller, plus private schools. The Division I tournament (also 64 teams) for schools in the new 5A and 6A classes will be held at College Station on Friday and Saturday. Pool play for the Division II tournament begins at 1 p.m. Thursday and all teams in the pool play three games that day.The top two teams from each pool will advance to the championship round on Friday morning, while the remaining two teams will go to the consolation bracket, also Friday morning. All of the teams play at least once on Friday morning: the consolation bracket starts at 8 a.m. and the championship bracket is scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. The consolation final will be played at approximately 3 p.m. on Friday while the champion-ship final will be played at approximately 4 p.m. that afternoon.While both the Division II and Division I tournaments will be at College Station, they will be played at 3101 Harvey Road, which is not on the campus of Texas A&M University.Sweetwater won all four of its games at Stephenville to advance to the championship game, defeating Godley 42-22, Grandview 35-26, Eastland 37-29 and Tolar 40-26 to reach the title game vs. Gatesville. Since both teams had already qualified for the state tournament, a coin flip was held instead and Sweetwater was declared the champion.On Thursday, Sweetwater has the following pool schedule: 2 p.m. — vs. Gilmer on Field 4B; 4 p.m. — vs. Cuero on Field 4B; and 6 p.m. — vs. Boerne on Field 4A.