Sweetwater all-district baseball: Warner, Gomez make 1st team

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Despite winning just four games this season, Sweetwater High School’s baseball team made the playoffs for the seventh consecutive season in 2019.
All seven Mustangs on the All-District 5-4A baseball team are underclassman, so better things likely are in store for next year.
Junior catcher Tyler Warner, the team’s only repeat all-district selection, and sophomore pitcher Krystian Gomez were named to the first team. Warner was a second-team pick in 2018.
Sweetwater had five players named to the second team this year — sophomore Rylen Moncada at first base, junior Andres Neri and freshman Leo Holsey in the infield and juniors Elijah Reyes and Reese Palafox in the outfield.
Mathew Hernandez — the only senior on this year’s team — and team statistician Josie Sanchez received academic all-state recognition from the Texas High School Coaches Association.
Big Spring, the district champion, had the overall MVP (Jason Miramontes) and defensive MVP (Brett Berringer) while Brooks Lundgren of Greenwood was the offensive MVP.
Snyder had the pitcher of the year (Derek Dominguez) and newcomer of the year (Cameron Smith).