Sweetwater ISD School Board elections to take place May 10

Sweetwater ISD will be holding an election on Saturday, May 10 for the District 5 seat on the Board of Trustees.Appearing on the ballot for District 5 will be Jana Hall and Danny Escobar. Only residents who live in District 5 will be able to vote for the position.Until the May election takes place, the board approved appointing former trustee Jeanie McPherson to fill the vacancy in District 5 at their monthly meeting held on Thursday evening. She will be sworn in so that her service can begin at the April meeting.In addition, the board approved to cancel the election for Districts 3 and 4. While Mark Meneses and Russ Petty, respectively, will appear on the ballot, both representatives are unopposed candidates, which was also approved by the board.The election for the District 5 trustee seat for Sweetwater ISD will be held in conjunction with the City Commission election for Precincts 2 and 4, as well as the Nolan County Hospital District's bond election. Sweetwater Middle School will serve as the central polling place for all three elections.