Texas Forts Trail Board Elects Directors

ABILENE, Texas – The Texas Forts Trail Board of Directors recently elected officers for the 2011-12 year and elected five new directors.  Christine Perkins, director of the Comanche Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture, was re-elected president.  Jacque McCoy, executive director of the Sweetwater Chamber of Commerce, was re-elected vice president.  Steve Waller of Albany was re-elected treasurer.  Waller is Senior Vice President of First Financial Bank Albany and Moran. Amy Smith, Executive Director of the Grady McWhiney Research Foundation and the Texas Frontier Heritage & Cultural Center, was re-elected secretary.  Michelle Jorjorian of Mineral Wells, Jason McAlister of Graham, Lynda Pack of Jacksboro, DeAnna Armstrong of Graham and H. Charles Eckert of Mason were each elected to serve a three-year term on the board of directors.  The Texas Forts Trail board is the decision-making entity that facilitates the program strategies of the Texas Forts Trail. Board members are selected through a nomination and application process.Michelle Jorjorian is the tourism sales & marketing director and events coordinator of the Mineral Wells Area Chamber of Commerce.   She is a certified trainer for the “Texas Friendly” hospitality training program.  Active in her community, Jorjorian is the public relations and advertising representative for the Crazy Water Festival. Jason McAlister, a fourth-generation resident of Graham, is the resort manager of the Wildcatter Ranch.  McAlister is a member of the Texas Travel Industry Association (TTIA), the Graham and Possum Kingdom Chambers of Commerce and the Wichita Falls Heritage Society.Actively working with community development, historic preservation and tourism, Lynda Pack is the executive director of the Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation.  She is a member of the Rural Foundation Board, TTIA, the Association of Rural Communities in Texas and the Texas Economic Development Council.  While a resident of San Angelo, Pack helped nominate over 200 structures for the Historic Register.  She is currently a member of the Friends of Fort Richardson and the Lions Club of Jacksboro.DeAnna Bullock Armstrong joins the Texas Forts Trail board of directors as the representative from Young County for Fort Belknap.  A Young county native, Armstrong’s great-grandmother was instrumental in saving and restoring historic Fort Belknap in the mid-1930s. She is the executive director of the Graham Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Rotary Club of Graham. Charles Eckert joins the board as the representative from Mason County for Fort Mason.  A retired Lutheran clergyman, he is a church historian and has served as archivist for Lutheran records in Texas and Louisiana.  Eckert is a member of the Texas-German Heritage Society, the Virginia and Texas State Genealogical Societies and is currently the president of the Mason County Historical Society.The Texas Forts Trail is a non-profit heritage tourism organization that serves a 29-county area in Central West Texas.  It seeks to help communities achieve economic growth by stimulating visitor activity to cultural and historical attractions.The Texas Forts Trail Region encompasses 29 counties in West Central Texas including:  Brown, Callahan, Coke, Coleman, Comanche, Concho, Eastland, Erath, Fisher, Haskell, Irion, Jack, Jones, McCulloch, Mason, Menard, Mills, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Runnels, San Saba, Schleicher, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, Tom Green, Throckmorton and Young.For more information, contact executive director Margaret Hoogstra at 325-795-1762 or by email at tft@texasfortstrail.com. Additional information can also be found on the Forts Trail website at www.texasfortstrail.com.