Texas House of Representatives passes HR 295 honoring TSTC

Rep. Susan L. King as Joint Author proudly announces passage of HR 295 honoring Texas State Technical College-West Texas as a top ten percent award winner as chosen by the Aspen Institute. TSTC-West Texas is one of only 120 community colleges nationwide to receive this prestigious distinction."District 71 is a powerhouse in higher education within Texas and the United States, and once again TSTC-West Texas is being lauded for their outstanding successes. West Texans know that post secondary education is imperative to the growth of the Texas Economy. TSTC-West Texas is helping lead us to a better future," stated Rep. King. With diverse offerings such as nursing, wind energy technology and digital arts, TSTC-West Texas continues to impact our state and lead it towards a better tomorrow."The Aspen Institute, founded in 1950, recognized TSTC-West Texas as part of its College Excellence Program. Other Community Colleges honored within Texas include: Alvin Community College in Alvin, Trinity Valley Community College in Athens, Lee College in Baytown, Blinn College in Brenham, Texarkana College in Texarkana, Southwest Texas Junior College in Uvalde, Victoria College in Victoria and Wharton County Junior College in Wharton.  These institutions were selected through analysis of publicly available data with technical support from the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems as well as guidance from the institute's Data/Metrics Advisory Panel. Determining factors for this prestigious award were overall student performance, improvement as well as performance by minority students.Rep. King, a Registered Nurse, is currently serving her third term in the Texas Legislature. She represents Taylor and Nolan Counties.