Texas Midwest Day at the Capital

Mayor Greg Wortham, SEED Executive Ken Becker, SEED Marketing Dir. Kirstin Smith, and Jeff Howard from TSTC joined more than 100 people representing cities in the Texas Midwest region in Austin on Feb. 5th participating in “Texas Midwest Day at the Capitol”. Representatives for the Sweetwater Rattlesnake Roundup were at the Capitol promoting the annual event and were able to take time to join the TMCN group for photos.Texas Midwest Community Network sponsored its tenth biennial visit to the State Capitol during the Legislative Session. Highlights of the day included a photo session on the steps of the Capitol, a briefing on regional issues, visits to lawmaker offices and an evening reception sponsored jointly by TMCN and the Brownwood Chamber of Commerce.“Texas Midwest Day provides an event for community leaders from our region to meet at the Capitol and have face to face contact with lawmakers,” says TMCN President Kathy Keane. “Our presence in Austin helps legislators from our region send a message to urban and city lawmakers that concerns about water and transportation have special significance to us.”The message to lawmakers includes details that the regional organization covers 27 counties which are 10% of all counties in the state and the population is more than a half million people equal to the 7th largest city in the state.State Senators for TMCN include Troy Fraser-Dist. 24, Robert Duncan-Dist. 28 and Craig Estes-Dist. 30. State Representatives include Harvey Hilderbran-Dist. 53, J.D. Sheffield-Dist. 59, Jim Keffer-Dist. 60, Drew Springer-Dist.68, James Frank-Dist.69, Susan King-Dist.71, Drew Darby-Dist. 72 and Charles Perry-Dist. 83.The 47 TMCN member cities are: Abilene, Albany, Anson, Aspermont, Baird, Ballinger, Brady, Breckenridge, Bronte, Brownwood, Buffalo Gap, Cisco, Clyde, Coleman, Colorado City, Comanche, Cross Plains, De Leon, Dublin, Early, Eastland, Eden, Goldthwaite, Gorman, Hamilton, Hamlin, Haskell, Hico, Knox City, Menard, Merkel, Miles, Munday, Ranger, Rising Star, Robert Lee, Roscoe, Rotan, San Angelo, San Saba, Santa Anna, Snyder, Stamford, Sweetwater, Throckmorton, Tye, and Winters.For more information about Texas Midwest Community Network visit the website at www.TexasMidwest.org.