TMCN hosts lawmakers luncheon

Texas Midwest Community Network hosted a special event at the Bill Franklin Center in Coleman to recognize state lawmakers who serve districts in the region. The purpose of the Lawmakers Luncheon was to provide an opportunity for state senators and representatives to meet with local officials in preparation for the 2013 Legislative Session.“The Lawmakers Luncheon is a one-of-a-kind rural event in the state of Texas”, noted TMCN President Brandon Anderson of Haskell. “Through this networking opportunity between lawmakers and local leaders, we identify the issues and concerns of most importance to the region and find out about how to bring these concerns to priority level of the entire Legislative body.”More than 200 attendees included county judges, mayors, economic development professionals, healthcare officials, university and community college officials, business and community leaders from throughout the region. The luncheon program featured remarks by special guest Texas Ag Commissioner Todd Staples and a panel discussion by a State Senator and three State Representatives serving districts that include the 25 counties in the Texas Midwest. Following the panel presentation questions and comments were taken from the audience.Participating lawmakers were Senator Robert Duncan (Dist. 28) and Representatives Jim Keffer (Dist. 60), Susan King (Dist. 71) and Charles Perry (Dist. 83). Lawmakers unable to participate due to schedule conflicts were Senators Troy Fraser (Dist. 24) and Craig Estes (Dist. 30) and Representative Harvey Hilderbran (Dist. 53), Drew Darby (Dist. 72) and Sid Miller (Dist. 59). Sponsors for the event were Abilene Chamber of Commerce, AEP Texas, Ballinger National Bank, Big Country Area Health Education Center, Big Country Electric Cooperative, Coleman County Electric Cooperative, Concho Valley COG, Concho Valley Electric Cooperative, Jerry Love CPA, Raymond James Financial of Ballinger, Resource Care Health Center, San Angelo Chamber of Commerce and Taylor Electric Cooperative. As TMCN Regional Partners Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, KTAB/KRBC, Hendrick Health System, Jacob & Martin Engineers, TSTC West Texas, Abilene Regional Airport, ATMOS Energy, AT&T, Big Country Chevy Dealers, Cisco College, Enprotec/Hibbs & Todd, First National Bank of Baird, Howard College, Texas Tech SBDC and West Central COG are year round sponsors for all TMCN events.TMCN is a regional organization founded in 1994 to provide a way for communities to work together to accomplish what one community cannot do alone. TMCN sponsors a number of networking events during the year and projects to market the region for business and tourism development. TMCN member cities are Abilene, Albany, Anson, Aspermont, Baird, Ballinger, Brady, Breckenridge, Bronte, Brownwood, Buffalo Gap, Cisco, Clyde, Coleman, Colorado City, Comanche, Cross Plains, De Leon, Dublin, Early, Eastland, Eden, Goldthwaite, Gorman, Hamilton, Hamlin, Haskell, Hico, Knox City, Menard, Merkel, Miles, Munday, Ranger, Rising Star, Robert Lee, Roscoe, Rotan, San Angelo, San Saba, Santa Anna, Snyder, Stamford, Sweetwater, Throckmorton, Tye and Winters.