Trio named to 1st team; 11 honored

Sweetwater has a total of three first team selections on the all-District 4-3A basketball teams and 11 players in all have been honored.For the Sweetwater boys, senior Kaleb Hoover made the first team for the third straight year and another senior, Dylan Bennett, is on the first team for the first time. Bennett was a second team pick as a junior and earned honorable mention as a sophomore. In addition, senior De’andre Gatson and junior Rhett Torres are second team all-district picks while junior J.P. Poe and sophomore Michael Hunt earned all-district honora-ble mention.Mike Lopez of Wylie and Andres Facio of Monahans were the district’s co-MVPs, while Grant Franklin of Greenwood was offensive MVP and Hunter Herrera and Daron Davis of Wylie were co-defensive MVPs.For the Sweetwater girls, senior Shaneese Brown is on the all-district first team and senior Kayla Chowning made the second team. Both were honored for the first time. Sweetwater had three players who earned honorable mention — senior Hayley Brownlow, senior Taylor McPherson and junior Maddie Jones.Brittany Brewer of Wylie is the district MVP and her teammate Punkin Mack is the defensive MVP. Amanda Bell of Greenwood is the offensive MVP.