Undeterred by an attempted insurrection, a united Congress certified the results showing Joe Biden defeated President Donald Trump. Biden will be the next President of the United States.

While a group of Republican lawmakers challenged the election results in Arizona and Pennsylvania, the objections did not withstand a vote in either the House of Representatives or in the Senate.

At approximately 3:33 a.m. EST on Thursday, Congress had certified enough electoral votes to surpass the 270 threshold that guaranteed Biden the presidency. The vote effectively ended a desperate bid by Trump and his supporters to overturn the results of the November election.

Vice President Pence announced the vote. The votes for president of the United States are as follows: Joseph R. Biden, Jr. of the State of Delaware has receive 306 votes. Donald J. Trump of the state of Florida has received 232 votes. The announcement of the state of the vote,” Pence said, “by the president of the Senate, shall be deemed a sufficient declaration of the persons elected president and vice president of the United States each for the term beginning on the 20th day of January, 2021."

Recommended for you