Pipers nip Roscoe in OT to claim title

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

HAMLIN — The teams were tied 14-14 at the end of regulation, bit Hamlin used a 1-yard run by Braydin Warner Friday in overtime to defeat Roscoe, 21-14, and deny the Plowboys a share of the District 4-2A, Division II championship.
The win clinched the title for Hamlin, which finished 5-0 in district while Roscoe fell to 3-2 and 6-4 overall. Both teams will face teams from District 3-2A, D-II to start the playoffs this week.
Roscoe will be the No. 3 team from 4-2A, D-II after Seagraves (4-1) defeated Roby, 50-20, on Friday. The Plowboys will face Farwell, the District 3-2A, D-II runnerup, in bi-district at 7 p.m. Thursday in Post.
Hamlin kept its winning drive alive with a 16-yard catch by Colby Stevenson on a fourth-and-5 play from Roscoe’s 20 and capped it on Warner’s run. The Plowboys were then unable to counter on their possession, allowing Hamlin to win its second straight 4-2A title.
Roscoe took a 6-0 lead early in the game when Jayden Gonzales threw a 32-yard touchdown pass to Brandon Lavalais, but the Pied Pipers answered on a 20-yard touchdown run and Warner’s PAT kick to take a 7-6 lead later in the first period.
Roscoe denied Hamlin a score on a pick by Diego Garza at the goal line in the second quarter to keep it 7-6 at halftime. The Plowboys went up 14-7 in the third period on a 2-yard TD run by Francisco Garcia, plus a 2-point Gonzales pass to Jose Ortega, but Hamlin tied it on a 25-yard Kyler Gann TD run and PAT kick early in the fourth quarter.
Clemente Aguayo had an interception for Roscoe as well, but Hamlin had three picks against Gonzales (18-for-36, 211 yards).
Ortega (nine catches, 98 yards) led the Plowboys receivers and Garcia ran for 41 yards on 14 carries.